Players Championship 2020 tee times, TV coverage, live stream & more to watch Thursday’s Round 1

first_imgUPDATE: The PGA Tour on Thursday announced the cancellation of the Players Championship and all tournaments through the Valspar Championship due to coronavirus concerns.The Players Championship, unofficially called golf’s “fifth major,” represents the first big tournament of the year on the PGA Tour schedule. Nearly all of the world’s top 50 golfers are competing at TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., with Tiger Woods as one notable omission. The 15-time major winner is nursing a stiff back and has not played on the PGA Tour since he finished a lowly 68th — last of all players who made the cut — at the Genesis Open three weeks ago.The Players makes up for the lack of prestige compared to the other majors with its massive purse, the largest on the PGA Tour in 2020, and that’s enough to ensure a well-endowed field. World No. 1 Rory McIlory will attempt to become the first player in history to repeat as champion in the tournament. He’ll tee off with Jon Rahm and Brooks Koepka as part of a start-studded featured grouping. The field also includes Patrick Reed, Justin Thomas, Bryson DeChambeau, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson and others.Of course, Sawgrass is an attraction in itself, known as one of the most storied courses in golf. It features the famous 17th hole, a par 3 surrounded almost exclusively by water.Here is a guide to watch the Players Championship in 2020, including a list of tee times (updated daily), the complete TV schedule and more. You can also follow SN’s live leaderboard for scores from each round.MORE: Players Championship picks, sleepers, betting adviceWatch the Players Championship 2020Dates: March 12-15, 2020TV channels: NBC, Golf ChannelLive stream: PGA Tour LiveNBC and the Golf Channel will broadcast live coverage of the Players Championship in 2020. The tournament airs exclusively on Golf Channel for the first two days, before shifting to NBC for the final rounds on Saturday and Sunday. You can stream The Players on PGA Tour Live, which offers early coverage starting at 7:30 a.m. ET daily.DateTimeTV channelThursday, March 121-7 p.m. ETGolf ChannelFriday, March 131-7 p.m. ETGolf ChannelSaturday, March 142-7 p.m. ETNBCSunday, March 151-6 p.m. ETNBCLIVE: Follow SN’s Players Championship leaderboardWho is in the 2020 Players Championship field?The biggest news about the 2020 Players Championship field is who isn’t playing: Tiger Woods. The 15-time major champion is nursing a lingering back injury and hasn’t played on the PGA Tour in three weeks, skipping the WGC-Mexico Championship and Arnold Palmer Invitational.Otherwise, the 144-player field is not lacking for star power with 47 of the world’s 50 top-ranked golfers on hand at Sawgrass, including each of the top five: Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Brooks Koepka, Justin Thomas and Dustin Johnson.McIlroy, the 2019 winner, leads a handful of recent Players champions including Webb Simpson, Jason Day and Rickie Fowler.Players Championship tee times for 2020Thursday’s featured group includes the three top players in the World Golf Ranking: Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm and Brooks Koepka. They tee off at 1:51 p.m. ET.Here is the complete list of Players Championship tee times for Thursday’s first round.Round 1: Thursday, March 12FIRST TEETee time (ET)Group7:40 a.m.Brian Harman, Rory Sabbatini, Sepp Straka7:51 a.m.Scott Brown, Lucas Glover, Cameron Tringale8:02 a.m.Aaron Baddeley, Scott Stallings, Michael Thompson8:13 a.m.J.B. Holmes, Brice Garnett, Ryan Armour8:24 a.m.Bubba Watson, Jason Dufner, Jimmy Walker8:35 a.m.Chez Reavie, Graeme McDowell, Daniel Berger8:46 a.m.Jim Herman, Sung Kang, Louis Oosthuizen8:57 a.m.Cameron Champ, Nate Lashley, Kevin Tway9:08 a.m.Dylan Frittelli, Scott Piercy, Pat Perez9:19 a.m.Corey Conners, Charles Howell III, Russell Knox9:30 a.m.Ryan Moore, Danny Lee, Abraham Ancer9:41 a.m.Adam Hadwin, Kyoung-Hoon Lee, Christiaan Bezuidenhout12:45 p.m.Luke List, Carlos Ortiz, Kiradech Aphibarnrat12:56 p.m.Patrick Rodgers, Sam Burns, Bernd Wiesberger1:07 p.m.Peter Malnati, Bud Cauley, Victor Perez1:18 p.m.Viktor Hovland, Collin Morikawa, Matthew Wolff1:29 p.m.Matt Kuchar, Henrik Stenson, Sergio Garcia1:40 p.m.Adam Scott, Justin Rose, Xander Schauffele1:51 p.m.Rory McIlroy, Brooks Koepka, Jon Rahm2:02 p.m.Brandt Snedeker, Jim Furyk, Tommy Fleetwood2:13 p.m.Andrew Putnam, Tony Finau, Zach Johnson2:24 p.m.Kevin Na, Jason Day, Patton Kizzire2:35 p.m.Emiliano Grillo, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Roger Sloan2:46 p.m.Kevin Streelman, Bronson Burgoon, Mark Hubbard10TH TEETee time (ET)Group7:40 a.m.Russell Henley, J.J. Spaun, Denny McCarthy7:51 a.m.Brian Stuard, Matt Every, Brian Gay8:02 a.m.Jhonattan Vegas, Scottie Scheffler, Matt Wallace8:13 a.m.Sungjae Im, Gary Woodland, Bryson DeChambeau8:24 a.m.Patrick Reed, Patrick Cantlay, Hideki Matsuyama8:35 a.m.Webb Simpson, Dustin Johnson, Phil Mickelson8:46 a.m.Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Jordan Spieth8:57 a.m.Tyrrell Hatton, Max Homa, Paul Casey9:08 a.m.Marc Leishman, J.T. Poston, Francesco Molinari9:19 a.m.Nick Taylor, Lanto Griffin, Keith Mitchell9:30 a.m.Branden Grace, Harris English, Joel Dahmen9:41 a.m.Chesson Hadley, Jason Kokrak, Tom Hoge12:45 p.m.Retief Goosen, Talor Gooch, Sam Ryder12:56 p.m.Matt Jones, Adam Schenk, Jazz Janewattananond1:07 p.m.Kyle Stanley, Martin Laird, Wyndham Clark1:18 p.m.Cameron Smith, Keegan Bradley, Ian Poulter1:29 p.m.Brendon Todd, Sebastián Muñoz, Ryan Palmer1:40 p.m.Kevin Kisner, Troy Merritt, Danny Willett1:51 p.m.Andrew Landry, Tyler Duncan, Billy Horschel2:02 p.m.C.T. Pan, Adam Long, Si Woo Kim2:13 p.m.Joaquin Niemann, Shane Lowry, Aaron Wise2:24 p.m.Chris Stroud, Nick Watney, Byeong Hun An2:35 p.m.Charley Hoffman, Vaughn Taylor, Harold Varner III2:46 p.m.Mackenzie Hughes, Rafa Cabrera Bello, Erik van RooyenPlayers Championship purseThe 2020 purse at the Players Championship is $15 million — a sharp increase from the $12.5 million purse in 2019. The winner will pocket $2.7 million in prize money, making it the most lucrative tournament on the PGA Tour this year. Rory McIlroy earned $2.25 million for winning the 2019 Players. Players Championship odds, picks for 2020Rory McIlroy +700Jon Rahm +1200Justin Thomas +1600Bryson DeChambeau +2000Dustin Johnson +2500Patrick Cantlay +2500Tommy Fleetwood +2500Hideki Matsuyama +2800SungJae Im +2800Webb Simpson +2800Xander Schauffele +2800Despite historical trends, Rory McIlroy is the betting favorite (+700) to repeat as winner of The Players Championship, according to odds from That means a $100 bet would win $700. You can find odds for the entire field here.Justin Thomas, Brooks Koepka, Paul Casey, Sergio Garcia and Kevin Kisner are among Sporting News’ picks and sleepers for 2020.Players Championship past winnersNo golfer has ever repeated as Players champion, but there has been an especially strong variety in recent winners. Prior to Tiger Woods, the last golfer to win multiple Players was Davis Love III in 2003. Greg Norman’s 24-under par in 1994 is the Sawgrass record, while Steve Elkington’s seven-stroke win in 1997 is the largest margin of victory. YearWinnerScore2019Rory McIlroy-162018Webb Simpson-182017Si Woo Kim-102016Jason Day-152015Rickie Fowler-122014Martin Kaymer-132013Tiger Woods-132012Matt Kuchar-132011K.J. Choi-132010Tim Clark-16last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *